College of Law > About > Diversity, Equity & Inclusion > DEI Champions

DEI Champions


Dean Perea

Now in her second term at DePaul and fourteenth year as a law dean, Jennifer Rosato Perea has served as dean of DePaul University College of Law since 2015. A nationally recognized leader in legal education, Dean Rosato Perea brings a wealth of experience to DePaul as an experienced administrator, a longtime advocate of student engagement and professionalism, and a respected legal scholar.  One of only a small number of Latina law school deans in the nation, she has been recognized and honored for her commitment to diversity through her presentations on implicit bias, mentoring, and creation of innovative programs.  Most recently, Dean Rosato Perea received the Aguila award, the highest honor bestowed by the Hispanic Lawyers Association of Illinois.  She also has presented nationally and regionally on the future and challenges of legal education before a variety of organizations, including the Association of American Law Schools and the American Bar Association. Dean Rosato Perea is an accomplished scholar and expert on family law, bioethics and legal ethics, having published extensively on a variety of legal issues affecting children and families. Prior to joining DePaul, she served as dean of Northern Illinois University College of Law for six years.  Read more >>

Ana Vázquez-Rivera

Dr. Ana Vázquez-Rivera has over 20 years of professional experience in the field of education, specializing in diversity initiatives, student affairs, and teaching. In her current role, she is responsible for diversity, wellness and student leadership programming.

Dr. Vazquez-Rivera holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees, as well as a Ph.D. from Loyola University-Chicago. Her dissertation documented the college experiences of Latinx students at predominantly White higher education institutions.

Dr. Vazquez-Rivera has committed much of her research and education advocacy to fostering positive educational experiences for students, particularly diverse students and helping them achieve their educational goals. Contact her at (312)362-8299 or

The DePaul Law Student Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI) Committee seeks to create a community where different voices are valued; to eliminate barriers and encourage awareness; and to share experiences, so that others may learn. We are one. We are many.


• Sadiyah Ahmad (JD ’24)

• Lizbeth Avilés (JD ’24)

• Gabrielle Giangrande (JD ’24)

• Madeline Hudson (JD ’24)

• Cass Marlow (JD ’25)

• Jessica Obi (JD ’25)

• Kathryn Onyundo (JD ’24)

• Beau Reeves (JD ’24)

• Ellerese Topacio (JD ’24)

• LaTrice Towns (JD ’24)

• Valentine (JD ’24)

• Mecca Wilkinson (JD ’24)

The faculty and staff Diversity, Inclusion & Community-Building Committee works in consultation with the Dean to improve the diversity of and inclusion in the law school community through programs of interest, professional development for the entire law school community, building collaborations across the law school, and working with the Dean to implement the recommendations of the law alumni Diversity Council.


Benjamin E. Alba
Director of Academic Success

Jesse Cheng
Assistant Professor of Law

Darrick Harris 
Assistant Director, Law Career Services; Assistant Director, Schiler, DuCanto & Fleck Family Law Center

Lucia Lopez
Staff Attorney, Asylum & Immigration Law Clinic

Esther Lwakabamba
Associate Director of Academic Advising

Manoj Mate
Associate Professor of Law, Faculty Director Racial Justice Initiative

Allen Moye, Chair
Associate Dean for Information Technology and Library Services; Director, Rinn Law Library; Associate Professor of Law

Nicole Pinkey
Events & CLE Manager

Ana Vazquez-Rivera
Director of Diversity, Inclusion & Student Life

The newly created Alumni Diversity Council offers critical support, guidance, and oversight on the College of Law's anti-racism, diversity, and inclusion efforts. The all-alumni council provides direct feedback to the law school's administration and supports DePaul Law. Read more >>

The faculty and staff Public Interest Law & Public Service Committee helps train and support the next generation of public interest law attorneys, advocates for financial resources for students and alumni in the public interest field, and promotes and integrates all College of Law social justice initiatives.


Sarah Baum
Associate Director of Academic Advising

Jesse Cheng
Assistant Professor of Law

David Frankin
Associate Professor of Law

Tom Judge (ex officio)
Chaplain, CTI and Law School

Shaye Loughlin, Chair
Executive Director, Center for Public Interest Law

Jody Marcucci
Senior Professional Lecturer; Associate Director, Legal Analysis, Research & Communication

David Rodriguez
Director, Third Year in Practice Program