College of Law > Alumni > Council, Boards & Networks > Diversity Council

Diversity Council

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The newly created Diversity Council​ offers​ critical support, guidance, and oversight on the College of Law's anti-racism​, diversity, and inclusion efforts. The all-alumni council provides direct feedback to the law school's administration and supports DePaul Law as:

  • Thought Leaders
    • ​Consultants to the law school administration​
    • Sponsor and assist in the planning of diversity and inclusion programming
    • Hold the College of Law's administration​ accountable on diversity metrics, anti-racism initiatives, and the goals of the law school's Diversity Plan
  • Advocates
    • ​​​​Utilizing networks and affinity groups to help diversify the student body, faculty, and staff
    • Assist in increasing resources for equity and diversity programming
    • Connecting the law school with community partners
    • Influencing the University and the legal community on the needs of the College of Law in the areas of diversity and inclusion
  • Connectors
    • Serve as mentors/contacts for our students and recent grads
    • Increase engagement with our community of diverse alumni

Diversity Council Membership

Ray Koenig (JD '99)
Attorney & Managing Partner
Clark Hill PLC

Sufyan Sohel (MS '11, JD '11)
Chief Operating Officer & General Counsel​
Resilience Force​

Council Members:
Aurora Austriaco (BSC '87, JD '90) 
VAB Law Firm

Heather Renée Adams​ (JD '12)
Roetzel & Andress

The Honorable Maryam Ahmad (JD '00)
Associate Judge
Circuit Court of Cook County​​​​

Azeema Akram (JD '13)
Administrative Law Judge
Illinois Commerce Commission

Karina Ayala Bermejo (JD '98)
Instituto Del Progreso Latino

Jeremy Duffy (JD '11)
Legal Officer/General Counsel
Illinois State Board of Education

Shawn Eddings-Levesque (COE '94, JD '98)
Director of Legal Hiring
Cook County State's Attorney's Office

The Honorable Robert F. Harris (JD '90)
Circuit Judge
Circuit Court of Cook County

Suheily Natal Davis (JD '07)
General Counsel - Latin American
McDonald's Corporation

Michelle Jackson (JD '98)
Associate Director for Labor & Employee Relations
University of Illinois at Chicago​

Tiffani Mims (JD '19)
Assistant State's Attorney
Cook County State's Attorney's Office

DL Morriss (JD '08)
Hinshaw Culbertson LLP

Markena Peavy (JD '12)
Senior Counsel
BMO Financial Group

Meredith Ritchie (JD '91)
Vice President, General Counsel​ & Chief Ethics and Government Affairs Officer
Alliant Credit Union​

Joelle M. Shabat (JD '13)
Lawrence Kamin

Swathi Staley (JD '11)
Chief Strategy Officer & General Counsel
YMCA of Metro Chicago

Johner T. Wilson III (JD '02)
Employment Litigation & Trial Attorney
Epstein Becker Green