College of Law > About > News > faculty-staff-graduation-awards-2021

Congratulations to the 2021 Recipients of the DePaul Law Faculty and Staff Graduation Awards

The annual faculty and staff graduation awards showcase the faculty and staff with the most notable contributions and achievements over the past academic year. Dean Jennifer Rosato Perea says of the recipients, “Although we unfortunately will not be able to celebrate these awardees in person, I am proud to publicly honor these faculty and staff members who have contributed so much this past year to our community, our excellence and the student experience.  They inspire all of us with their words and actions."

Faculty Awards

  • Teaching Award - Emily Cauble: A professor of tax law and business law, Emily Cauble received high praise for how she adapted to hybrid teaching during the pandemic, and for generously sharing her techniques with fellow faculty members.
  • Scholarship Award – Joshua Sarnoff: Professor Joshua Sarnoff published and spoke extensively over the past year on topics ranging from climate change to patent law to COVID responses.  He has also been a valuable mentor to his colleagues.
  • Achievement Award – Michael Grynberg: Completing his tenure as associate dean of research and faculty professional development this year, Professor Michael Grynberg led by example during the pandemic by cultivating and strengthening the faculty community and continuing to build the law school's academic reputation.
  • Service Award – Ben Alba: As director of the Academic Success Program (ASP), Ben Alba embodies the Vincentian mission, especially with students.  Among his recent activities are hiring TAs for ASP, creating materials for the Applied Legal Skills course that were adapted for remote learning, hosting the College's annual Diversity Scholarship Reception, and serving as faculty advisor for the Asian-Pacific American Law Students Association.
Staff Award

Kimyatta Gainey: A member of the College of Law family since 2005, Kimyatta Gainey serves as the circulation assistant/inter-library loan specialist for the Rinn Law Library.  Through the pandemic, she has managed access services for the library. She has received two master's degrees and a post master's certificate since joining the College of Law, and she is currently pursuing a doctorate in education leadership.

Rinn Law Library Director Allen Moye says of Kimyatta, “I am so pleased that she was selected for this year's staff service award. After an unanticipated reduction in staffing, she has really stepped up to keep the Access Services Department functioning to provide services and support to our students, faculty and staff. Kimyatta has a real passion for education and when considering any policy change or new acquisition will always ask, 'How will this benefit our students?'

DePaul Law congratulates this year's very deserving recipients of the faculty and staff graduation awards!​​